The Code for Sustainable Homes (CSH) is an environmental assessment method for rating and certifying the performance of new homes. It is a national standard for use in the design and construction of new homes with a view to encouraging continuous improvement in sustainable home building. The Code for Sustainable Homes covers nine categories of sustainable design:

  • Energy and CO2 Emissions
  • Water
  • Materials
  • Surface Water Run-off
  • Waste
  • Pollution
  • Health and Well-being
  • Management
  • Ecology

The purpose of the Ecology category is to promote development on land that already has a limited value to wildlife, and discourage the development of ecologically valuable sites.

Quants has Suitably Qualified Ecologists (SQE) with sufficient experience and full membership of The Chartered Institute of Ecology and Environmental Management (CIEEM), which is one of the specifications for the SQE.

BREEAM (British Research Establishment Environmental Assessment Method) is used to assess the sustainability of new developments. There are several different types of BREEAM scheme, and within each of the schemes there are categories in which credits are awarded. These categories are: ƒ

  • Management ƒ
  • Health and wellbeing ƒ
  • Energy ƒ
  • Transport ƒ
  • Water ƒ
  • Materials ƒ
  • Waste ƒ
  • Land Use and Ecology ƒ
  • Pollution ƒ
  • Innovation

Within the Land Use and Ecology section there are usually five categories (more are available under certain BREEAM schemes). These are:

  • LE 01 Site selection
  • LE 02 Ecological value of site and protection of ecological features
  • LE 03 Mitigating ecological impact
  • LE 04 Enhancing site ecology
  • LE 05 Long term impact on biodiversity

To gain certain credits a SQE is required to survey the site and make recommendations. Quants is able to supply SQEs qualified to complete ecology assessments for the Land Use and Ecology section of a BREEAM scheme.